Rubber intake rip. Silicone sleeve repair?

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

ProGeoffrey

Rubber intake rip. Silicone sleeve repair?

Post by ProGeoffrey »

Hi all! My air filter>turbo pipe what is rubber with 2 off pipes one for the blow off valve an the other im not to sure has a big rip in it.
I'm new to all this and up to now cant find a replacement and looking for options. I was thinking about some sort of glue/resin/gasket sealant and a short silicone sleeve over the ripped end and i've ordered some T-bolt hose clamps to replace the twin wire hose clamps that are on my car.

Would a glued sleeve work? What sorta glue/resin/gasket sealant would i be looking at if anyone knows?

Or is there another way? lol :-s

Peter Gidden
IMOC Affiliated Trackday Organiser

Re: Rubber intake rip. Silicone sleeve repair?

Post by Peter Gidden »

Just find a secondhand one.
ProGeoffrey

Post by ProGeoffrey »

Have been trying to but cant find one up to now bud :(
Peter Gidden
IMOC Affiliated Trackday Organiser

Post by Peter Gidden »

ProGeoffrey wrote:Have been trying to but cant find one up to now bud :(

You only posted in Items Wanted yesterday! Some people have a life beyond the forum, especially at weekends. It's not a rare part, just a little patience and efort required.

Have you contacted gtschris, mr2ben etc?
Mullen

Post by Mullen »

I had that happen & I 'repaired' it with flexible rubber glue... it lasted about a week before it broke again and sucked a lump of pipe into the engine :D

Replace it :thumleft:
ProGeoffrey

Post by ProGeoffrey »

Peter Gidden - SBITS wrote:
ProGeoffrey wrote:Have been trying to but cant find one up to now bud :(