4AGE Tuning

Discussion and technical advice for 84-89 AW10 & AW11 MR2. 3A-LU, 4A-GE, 4A-GZE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

laam999

4AGE Tuning

Post by laam999 »

Ok, I know this won't be as cost affective as a engine swap and will be a little pointless in doing but think of this as a technical exercise for myself.

I want to tune a NA 16v 4AGE engine. I hope to get the output to around 170-180bhp but I have no REAL knowledge of engines and specifics such as measurments.

The way I was hoping to get to this power was going to be the following.

uprated cams, springs and valves (unsure what exact specs will be useable for day to day driving)

more efficient exhause manifaold (unsure where to get this but I assume there is one that will allow gas to flow a little better)

Forged crankshaft, hight compression pistons and lighter forged conrods.

ITBS

lightened flywheel

hight output fuel pump

Ok this is where I'm asking for help and advice with the technical side, I have no idea about the engines details.

I get the basics of how they all fit and work together but when I look for example a crankshaft it says
"Stroke: 77mm

Max HP : 1800HP"

Is that stroke size right for a standard MR2 4AGE? because it can handle a greater power can I make the engine rev higher?

As for pistons, what sizes do I need? How do new pistons increase pressure? If I have higher lift Cams and taller pistons will my engine eat itself?

I'm sorry if this sounds like a stupid post but this is going to be something I plan to build over the next few years for putting in the MR2 when it's rebuilt. The car would be 90% road use so I would like to keep it with a decent amount if not higher low down torque and higher revving higher powered top end.

I'm looking to do all the work myself just to see if I can do, please give me any advice possible.

Thanks

Liam
PW@Woodsport

Re: 4AGE Tuning

Post by PW@Woodsport »