Rusty problem - advice from welders?

Discussion and technical advice for 84-89 AW10 & AW11 MR2. 3A-LU, 4A-GE, 4A-GZE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

widster

Rusty problem - advice from welders?

Post by widster »

Hi,

My car is now ready for it's MOT but the only thing stopping me from putting it in for the test is this area of rust i 'uncovered' when i was tidying the bodywork up underneath the back of the car ready for a new exhaust. I have now fitted the Mongoose exhaust after much head scratching as the hangers were bent as was pointed out by people on here - thanks.

I am not too good at bodywork and i can't weld. I had been advised previously that i can get replacement panels but this is a problem with the inner panel only. The outer panels are ok, for the moment. My questions are,

a) could i get away with filling this area and painting over it?
b) is it structural and likely to fail the MOT if not welded?
c) does anyone know of any welders in Leicestershire (or mobile) who will come out to weld a tiny repair panel on a bit of thin rusty bodywork?

I know it may seem insignificant but this little problem is keeping my car off the road at the present time as i do not know what to do! ](*,)

[AREA INFRONT OF N/S REAR WHEEL]

Thnaks in advance to anyone who can help.
MR2sRuleTheRoad

Re: Rusty problem - advice from welders?

Post by MR2sRuleTheRoad »

Although its the end of the sill it isn't really a structural part of the car (the strength in the sills is a bit further down this is just bodywork really)Although it is close to a suspension mounting point so depending how fussy or how closely your MOT guy looks at it, if it was tidied up a bit he would probably pass it. I think I read somewhere that there can't be any serious corrosion within a 30cm radius of suspension mounting points or seatbelt anchorages, or something like that. But some of the crap ive seen pass at my local garages makes you wonder how hard they look.