[Mk2] [Turbo] Which spoiler gives the most downforce?? Rev 1/2, rev3/4 or rev 5

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

2Crooky

[Mk2] [Turbo] Which spoiler gives the most downforce?? Rev 1/2, rev3/4 or rev 5

Post by 2Crooky »

Just wondering if any of you guys know which rear spoiler on the mr2 gives the most downforce???

I am looking at a carbon bootlid and a spoiler. Whichever spoiler gives more downforce, i will have it made up in carbon to go on the car.

Does anyone know if you need a side exit exhaust to be able to accomodate the madpsi rear diffuser?? Or it is designed to work with single exit exhaust systems??

Cheers for any help :thumleft:

Alex
johnthedogg

Re: [Mk2] [Turbo] Which spoiler gives the most downforce?? Rev 1/2, rev3/4 or rev 5

Post by johnthedogg »

im no expert but i would've thought the combat spoiler one would've given the most downforce due to its large surface area...but like i said im no expert!
Si_Crewe

Re: [Mk2] [Turbo] Which spoiler gives the most downforce?? Rev 1/2, rev3/4 or rev 5

Post by Si_Crewe »

I don't think any of them produce downforce.

I thought the idea of a spoiler was to break up the air travelling over the roof and stop it creating eddy currents which do odd things to the handling.
In fact, I'm not sure any spoiler actually generates genuine downforce unless the sectional shape of the spoiler is an inverted wingform.

Also, you don't get any meaningful levels of downforce at anything less that about 70mph.
A spoiler won't help you on roundabouts.

I think the rev 1 spoiler was originally designed to help stabilise the car in crosswinds as well.
Didn't work though, given that they fettled little spoilers onto the front wheelarches as well from rev4 (?) onwards.