[Mk2] [NA] Fuel Light

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Flyin Donkey

[Mk2] [NA] Fuel Light

Post by Flyin Donkey »

How many miles (roughly) have I got left in the tank when the petrol light comes on?
L0rdMike

Re: [Mk2] [NA] Fuel Light

Post by L0rdMike »

10L so anything between say 30-70miles
Flyin Donkey

Post by Flyin Donkey »

30 miles is further than i thought :thumleft:
L0rdMike

Post by L0rdMike »

Light comes on at 45L so I normally say have 300miles done by then.

300/45= 6.6 so thats 6.6miles per Litre.

Times that by whats left and I should be able to get 66miles before I run out. :P

Of course the way you drive and many things can effect it.
blue2

Post by blue2 »

I have a phd on running cars low on petrol, I used to use mine every day with the petrol light on (in my skint student days). But, it can cause probs, if you run it out you will end up sucking a load of crap through the system and that can be a real headache. Ive driven about 30 miles with the light fully on, thats as far as I dared go :?
Flyin Donkey

Post by Flyin Donkey »

I trecked a whole 15mile journey with the light on just waiting for it to die on me, clearly I could have done it a couple more times.

As soon as the light comes on the needle is sat right on its ar$e though #-o
mav

Post by mav »

Never let mine get low enough to see the petrol light, come t9o think of it Im not even sure if it works :lol:
Turbo-G

Post by Turbo-G »

My light no longer works :(
Tiamat
IMOC Moderator

Post by Tiamat »