Speaker upgrade for total beginners...

Posts about stereos, speakers, sat nav etc and posts about car alarms or car security.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

SwissHeavy

Speaker upgrade for total beginners...

Post by SwissHeavy »

So I thought I'd make a contribution and show what I did to my car, it's nothing over the top and is ideal for people that don't want to go crazy in terms of sound and price.

So first off you need to start off with a decent head unit, something that'll enable you to have 4 speaker outputs.... mine was an alpine and has an inbuilt amp of 45w which is plenty for me. £100 will get u something lovely. I also have a 6 disc CD changer which I put behind the passenger seat, nice and tidy.

You then need to think about tieing some speakers in. I upgraded the door speakes with 17cm Ground Zero 50watt RMS (Always look at RMS not max output). These are dead easy to install but I need to fit some spacers in and the back of the speaker is much wider than I thought.

I still wanted a little more power and the acoustics of the car were such that it would benefit from some speakers at the back, rather than the current crappy 9cm ones. I opted for 6x9 speaker, 70watt RMS (i'll admit these won't be fully utilised by the 45watt amp, but it leaves me some flexibilty later on if I want to upgrade). They are nice and tidy three way speakers that give rich base and rounded treble. These were fitted into the shelves behind the seats. The pic below shows the passenger side one and the CD changer.

So whatabout wonga? Well I already had the headunit and changer in the car when I bought it. But I'd hazard £150 for that. The door speakers were £70 and the 6by9's were £75. So a tidy little package that really does justice to ur music collection. Ok, it isn't a LOUD, but it's ample for me whilst queuing in rush hour traffic.

Hope I've made sense to you as I knew nothing about ICE before now so thought I'd give my two penneth...

Josh
Gaz6002