Which boost gauge to get?

Posts about anything do to with modifying your car such as fitting aftermarket parts, bodykit, or tuning the engine for more performance.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

darrenmr2

Which boost gauge to get?

Post by darrenmr2 »

Dont think my car is running 100%, so thought id invest in a boost gauge to see what shes boosting at. Question is which one and how much do i pay? Looked on ebay and theres LOADS just dont know whats good and whats not! I have a 1993 rev 2 tubby. Should it be around 10psi? Im new to this tubby thing, so pardon me for asking but whats that in 'bar' (0.5? 0.7? etc) And whats the diff between bar and psi?! Sorry if i sound stupid...need a turbo lesson! :oops: Oh and what are they like to fit? DIY job or pay someone? Cheers in advance!
BLOODUK

Re: Which boost gauge to get?

Post by BLOODUK »

I believe the best boost guage to get is the HKS boost guage, i also like the different sizes too!

bar and psi is kinda the same thing, people tend to use different ways to explain what they are running at... Rev 2 should be about 6 - 7 psi i think, which = 0.5/0.6 bar !
Last edited by BLOODUK on Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BLOODUK

Post by BLOODUK »

Oh and you have the same car as me :D :D
karammander

Post by karammander »

rev 2 should boost more than 6-7psi since my rev 1 boosted 8-9 satandard on the rollers, i bought a apexi el boost gauge, i think this one is good because its very slim, only about 25mm and a nice display which is very accurate. but then its up to u.there are a lot of bar to psi converters on the net do a search and you should find one.

cheers karam
BLOODUK

Post by BLOODUK »

karammander mine was boosting standard at about 0.5/0.6 bar
which is about 6/7 psi right?

I think rev 2's are standard set that way, pretty much most people ive spoken too 0.5 - 0.6 bar is normal
darrenmr2

Post by darrenmr2 »