Im new to this and need advice

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Bumble-bee

Im new to this and need advice

Post by Bumble-bee »

Hi guys!

Had my mr2 since September last year and I love it, only thing is I want more power like more boost! But I have limited car knowledge and getting to do this myself would be a disaster!

I have the 1991 Rev 2 tubby - I want about low to mid 20's psi of boost but where do I start? I can't do it on a standard engine and standard turbo?

I have some HKS boast gauge in the car when I bought it, put a pod filter on with a heat shield and getting a full stainless steel exhaust system customs made this month with no cat, but I want the feel of proper boost and not blow my car up! It's got 85k on the clock mixture of km and miles I think, what's the cheapest and safest route to take to get more boost without blowing the car up as I use it as a daily and I just want to feel more force from it, and hear the noises - I currently have it on 8-10 psi because someone mentioned it can't go over 13psi on here so I'm playing it safe

Any help is appreciated but I'm not sure what I need to do, but if it's something like forged internals rebuild with new radiator and intercooler and new turbo then there's no point trying :') but I can cross them off one by one :)

Thanks
jimGTS

Re: Im new to this and need advice

Post by jimGTS »

i would have a good read of this

http://www.mrcontrols.com/primers/power.htm

although the power figures differ slightly to over here, it shows you which order to do things.
Peter Gidden
IMOC Affiliated Trackday Organiser

Post by Peter Gidden »

What's the magic reason for wanting mid to low 20s psi of boost?

Start with aftermarket ECU, forged engine, larger turbo, stronger clutch and all other supporting mods.