Newby Member (Krawl) Intro & Questions

Create a post with details about your car.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Krawl

Newby Member (Krawl) Intro & Questions

Post by Krawl »

Not sure if posted in the correct place so please move me if not, thanks.

Hi everyone. I'm new here. My name is Tom, I'm 28, and I live near Peterborough.

I've just signed up as I'm considering getting a mk2 MR2 Turbo as a weekend toy and project car.

I have owned a mk2 before(pics to follow), it was a rev1 2.0 GT T-Bar in black. I absolutely loved it, but the previous owners had stuffed the engine full of radweld, something I had over looked as I'm not a mechanic by a long stretch. The block had a crack in it, and the replacement engine I bought for it never showed, the company went bust and disappeared and I never got my money back.
She sat on the drive for a year or two before I finally scrapped it as Times were really tight :(

I now drive a mk6.5 Fiesta ST with various modifications(pics to follow), but it just isn't fast enough in a straight line, for me. Nor does it have the same sporty feel that my MR2 had, the driving position and interior (full leather) really were spot on and felt like a proper sports car!

I will keep the Fiesta as my daily, as I'm aware of how unreliable these old cars can be, and tinker with the Toymota at the weekends.

Can you take out a separate insurance policy for a second car, or do I need multicar insurance? Also who do you guys advise I try with? Currently with Elephant, paying around £300 fully comp with 3yrs NCB and I'm 28, no convict or points atm and that's the 10 month fast track.