Need some guidance on DIY repair

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Racer7

Need some guidance on DIY repair

Post by Racer7 »

There are going to be a few 'dumb' questions that follow, so bear with me. I'm not good with this stuff!

So I think it is my alternator that is the root cause of my problems and I have done the parasitic battery tests which have lead me to that conclusion (in amongst tons of internet/oc searches).

I'm wondering if there is a pictoral guide available anywhere to guide me how to get the alternator out (Rev5 UK) so I can replace it? Before that I need to know how to do the volt test and get to it to check whether it is the round or oval plug. So some guide on that would be good.

I drained the engine oil a bit after overfilling when initially trying to extinguish the warning light on the dash. I've tightened the bolt back up and got the dipstick reading to halfway (after topping up). I'm not sure if I have an oil leak as it looks like there may have been a slow drip on my garage floor. However, checking the dipstick and the oil is in the same place - so is this indicative that it's my paranoia or can simply unbolting and re-bolting (tightened to a similar torque as before) can cause the leak?

I also have another problem in that I have a small garage. Not much space to get under the car. Can the alternator be removed without going underneath?

I really hope to get this sorted as I really want the car back on the road. I've missed a truly good summer for weather and thus the chance to actually take the t-bar panels off! So I'd at least like to drive it this year (haven't driven it anywhere since last July) :|
simpson_eh

Re: Need some guidance on DIY repair

Post by simpson_eh »

Racer7

Post by Racer7 »

Thanks for the links.