[Mk2] [Turbo] Engine rebuild dilemma....

Anything and everything to do with mechanical issues with your Mk2

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

J-1

[Mk2] [Turbo] Engine rebuild dilemma....

Post by J-1 »

Well, it happened today...

Had track tuition this afternoon and the engine gave up!
It's likely head gasket failure (maybe worse, piston failure etc). Two very different things I know, but I'm not a mechanic by a long shot so I'm guessing until it's inspected.

Accelerated in second gear, drop in power followed by a puff of smoke. Car won't start now. There's oil/coolant all over the engine bay now.

Looks like the engine will be coming out, so the question is;

What should I do when it's out????

I'm happy to rebuild the full engine to a standard'ish spec, but I'm not going down the fully forged road because I don't want the headache because I know it'll grow arms and legs.

My thinking at the moment is rebuild / refresh the standard engine.
J-1

Re: [Mk2] [Turbo] Engine rebuild dilemma....

Post by J-1 »

What else could be added to this list;

Block honed and decked
Replace hoses from hell
Balance as much as possible
Uprated head gasket
Replace seals and gaskets etc

Would I be as well to replace with forged piston and rods?
ashley

Post by ashley »

Only deck the block if you have to- there's not much material between the top of the block and the water jacket, so if you can leave it alone do.

If you're sticking at stock power levels I'd reuse your stock rods, but take the opportunity to stick some forged pistons in, depending on the state of the bores you may be able to keep it at 86mm and just rehone for new rings.

Full set of new bearings, gaskets and seals, water pump, idlers, belt, etc...re-shim the head and stick a metal HG in there if doesn't have one already.

Fingers crossed you ain't got any real damage to fix :thumleft:
J-1

Post by J-1 »

Thanks Ash. Sent you a PM.