Looking for a Mk2, what to avoid?

Discussion and technical advice the SW20 MR2. 3S-GTE, 3S-GE, 3S-FE etc
Anything and everything to do with maintenance, modifications and electrical is in here for the Mk2.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

StealthSteve

Looking for a Mk2, what to avoid?

Post by StealthSteve »

I've decided it HAS to be a Tbar - that is my only rule.

I've been negotiating with a couple of sellers online after 2 deals fell through and it's got me wondering what, if anything I should be avoiding?

About me:
Been driving for 7/8years, driven allsorts of cars from Corsa B's to M5s and so far not crashed anything.

I'm a spirited driver, but not yet picked up any tickets.. that said I haven't played properly in anything with an MR2 setup; RWD low down sportscar, just grew up with Go-Karts and am aware of the difference, 2 friends have MR2s and I know to be careful.

I wanted a Rev2, because I prefer the styling of them and they had the best mechanical stuff bolted into 'em, without much needing changing to be a decent daily driver.

I found a Rev2 with a Rev3 engine, just missed out on that thanks to a bloody eBay snipe *gutted*

But, I've been offered a Rev1 pretty cheap with minimal work required, so what should I look for when I go to see it at the weekend?
MR2 Turbo Boy

Re: Looking for a Mk2, what to avoid?

Post by MR2 Turbo Boy »

Moderator edit - Premium membership required to sell
Rory

Post by Rory »

Are you looking for a turbo or NA? If you've driven M5's then you're going to be disappointed with an NA. If you going turbo then rev 3+ is the best setup. Do a search on here to find out more. Its been covered plenty of times over the life of this forum. Also don't get too cocky...... "spirited driver, no points, driven everything and havent crashed yet etc"
Cocky driver + MR2 Turbo = Pain
adaz

Post by adaz »

Have a look at this article if you haven't already http://www.imoc.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?t=116785
bobhatton