Mk3 standard wheels/tyres question

The last incarnation of our beloved mr2..Discussion and technical advice for the ZZW30 MR2 Roadster (MR-S), & MR2 Spyder. 1ZZ-FE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Polypedates

Mk3 standard wheels/tyres question

Post by Polypedates »

Hi

I've been driving a Panda 100HP for the last 3 years or so but now have a hankering for a convertible and preferably something RWD so considering a Mk32 MR2, Mk1 MX5 or maybe even a Fiat Barchetta for the looks.

Anyhow, re. the MR2, I have established I need to be looking at post 2003 and ideally post 2004 update cars. I understand these have 16" wheels. Will the 15" wheels from the earlier model fit these cars or were the brakes increased in size too?

Also will an MR2 on 15s take 185/50 R15 tyres? I'm guessing not as rears seem to be wider but I thought I'd ask as I have a set of winter tyres in that size so wondering whether to keep them or sell them on with the panda.

Thanks
Ekona

Re: Mk3 standard wheels/tyres question

Post by Ekona »

Wheels from all years will fit each other, I used to run the 15"s on my post-facelift as track wheels. Brakes are all the same.

You'd probably get the 185s on the fronts, but you must run a staggered setup on a mk3 so you'd need to buy a separate pair for the rear, negating any saving really. I'd probably just sell them on.
cartledge_uk

Post by cartledge_uk »

ekona wrote:

You'd probably get the 185s on the fronts, but you must run a staggered setup on a mk3 so you'd need to buy a separate pair for the rear, negating any saving really. I'd probably just sell them on.

No you don't.

I have no idea why people on the mk3 forums batter on about the staggerd setup. Especially as most have them have uprated suspension parts negating any standard features and havent even adjusted the geometry. ](*,)