Engine Rebuild Parts/Cost?

Discussion and technical advice for 84-89 AW10 & AW11 MR2. 3A-LU, 4A-GE, 4A-GZE.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

NoSkill

Engine Rebuild Parts/Cost?

Post by NoSkill »

I'm about to take my MR2 off the road due to shot piston rings and a nice oil leak that's been rapidly getting worse.

Although I'm not 100% decided on keeping the MR2 yet (it's a little tired and will cost a fair bit to get back to a good condition, certainly more than it's 'worth'...) I'd like to get a rough idea on how much it'll cost to fix, but the one thing I'm not sure about is the Engine.

It seems I could get a second hand engine for around £2-300 for an unknown one off the bay, but I'm also contemplating rebuilding my current one (assuming the piston rings being shot hasn't damaged the bores or anything, but won't know that until I strip it I guess).

I've never done this before so I was wondering if I decide to go down this route what exactly would 'need' changing (even if they're not dead yet, things like bearings/seals that are a good idea to change), how much they'd cost and where I can get them from.

So far I've thought of the following:
Big and small end bearings
iirc there's an oil seal between crank and gearbox?
bearings and oil seals for the cams (ignoring the budget tuning thread here and sticking with stock, maybe ¬_¬)
valve stem oil seals
piston rings (obviously :p)

Guessing potential cost for shims and probably other stuff when it comes around to putting it all back together, plus a full gasket set (ebay has ones for ~£70, are these a bad idea?)

Anything else?

Also I'm guessing once it's all stripped down I'll need to take it <somewhere> to be cleaned up nicely, any ideas how much this would be?

Oh, and am I mad for even considering this?

I did consider some engine conversions, but I want the car as a daily driver for ~400 miles a week and the current ~38-42mpg or so that I'm getting is quite nice :p
Tiamat
IMOC Moderator