[Mk2] [Turbo] Rev2 to Rev3 Head Conversion *NOW MAPPED*

Posts about anything do to with modifying your car such as fitting aftermarket parts, bodykit, or tuning the engine for more performance.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

Whippett

[Mk2] [Turbo] Rev2 to Rev3 Head Conversion *NOW MAPPED*

Post by Whippett »

We are soon to be completing our first rev2 to rev3 head conversion so thought I'd tell you all about it.

Firstly... in hindsight, I should have just got an entire rev3 engine a year ago and forged that when I had mine built, seen as I got a new rev2 block anyway!

Now, I am no mechanic, I just deal with the business side of things, but I have a fair knowledge and thought aside from a few differences the conversion would be pretty simple... how wrong I was!

I firstly obtained a rev3 head, throttle body and inlet manifold. I didn't even give the exhaust manifold a thought at the time.

I have had to purchase the following to make it fit:

Rev3 exhaust manifold
various rev3 gaskets
Various brackets and pipes
New injector seals (the rev3 ones are much bigger than the rev2)
Rev3 fuel rail as my overpriced Wolfkatz item is now redundant!
Water swirl pot

The small differences between the 2 heads are vast! The exhaust manifold is different in that the turbo now sits further towards the air-filter and my already modified Nur Spec flexi now is too short and needs modifying back to it's original state.

The screamer pipe now hits the down pipe (?!) so had been modified slightly. FYI we originally used the rev3 downpipe from the Berk GT3071r kit as it was a better fit than the rev2 item.

There is also an extra oil breather from the rocker cover to the inlet manifold which the rev2 does not have. The oil breather port for the stock rev3 catch can is a lot bigger than my catch can so I am modifying the catch can port to suit.