www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index
 AlbumAlbum CalendarCalendar FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist Legal NoticeLegal Notice IMOC 1/4 Mile1/4 Mile Table Knowledge BaseKnowledge Base   RegisterRegister 
 GarageCommittee GarageGarage  SubscriptionPremium Membership  ProfileProfile   Log in to check private messagesLog in to check private messages   Log inLog in 
Calendar 
rev1 turbo lump into a rev1 na. jdm. Help required please.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index -> MR2 Engine Swaps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:48 pm    Post subject: rev1 turbo lump into a rev1 na. jdm. Help required please. Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I'm swapping out a rev1 turbo lump into a rev1 na. Both jdm so not UK spec.

Is there a walk through Or a thread available please as im having difficulties with a loom plug in the boot no longer marrying up.

I'm sure I will run into more difficulties.
Back to top
User is offline 
alanmr2turbo




Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2238
Location: Birmingham
Feedback Score: 10



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

just change the passenger side foot well loom the goes from front to back. You will also need the gear linkage cables.
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Gear linkage cables?
Back to top
User is offline 
alanmr2turbo




Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2238
Location: Birmingham
Feedback Score: 10



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Turbo gear linkage cables are different to n/a cables

Presuming you are using the turbo gearbox as well?
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Yes I'm using turbo box. It's actually a jdm auto so looks like I will need to do the pedals also .

The cable you mention won't swap out? It's just a power cable. Doesn't appear to be a loom going to front?
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

My mistake.. It does have the loom.
I just swapped it out however there is a plug and socket by the ecu that won't marry up.









Back to top
User is offline 
alanmr2turbo




Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2238
Location: Birmingham
Feedback Score: 10



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Yes that's the one. change it for a REV1 turbo. Get hold of the gear linkage cables before you put the engine in. So much easier to change when engines out....... i found out the hard way LOL

You have the turbo drive shafts, rear hubs and dash clocks?
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Yes I have everything except turbo loom from passenger foot well to ecu

This must be the na loom.

Any ideas where to get one pls
Back to top
User is offline 
alanmr2turbo




Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2238
Location: Birmingham
Feedback Score: 10



PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

MrTwos, may have one if not he knows a guy who can get hold of stuff pretty easily.

07812 506 772.
Back to top
User is offline 
[email protected]
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7640
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

In 20 years i have yet to swap the kickwell loom on any turbo conversion, just repin the engine harness to suit, far less likelyhood of other issues occuring.

Also you can simply use the NA gear cables with the addition of a simple 12mm spacer on the gearbox cable bracket, no need to buy turbo cables.
_________________
Back to top
User is offline 
alanmr2turbo




Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 2238
Location: Birmingham
Feedback Score: 10



PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

[email protected] wrote:
In 20 years i have yet to swap the kickwell loom on any turbo conversion, just repin the engine harness to suit, far less likelyhood of other issues occuring.

Also you can simply use the NA gear cables with the addition of a simple 12mm spacer on the gearbox cable bracket, no need to buy turbo cables.


But he wants the easy way, not farting around with repinning, en asking which pins to repin and not making a brackets for cables lol

By the time you have repimmed the look I could have fitted the cable especially if you had to first find which ones to repin.
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

I'm fine with repining however no one has ever helped me out here..

A pin out would be epic guys please
Back to top
User is offline 
[email protected]
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7640
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

alanmr2turbo wrote:
[email protected] wrote:
In 20 years i have yet to swap the kickwell loom on any turbo conversion, just repin the engine harness to suit, far less likelyhood of other issues occuring.

Also you can simply use the NA gear cables with the addition of a simple 12mm spacer on the gearbox cable bracket, no need to buy turbo cables.


But he wants the easy way, not farting around with repinning, en asking which pins to repin and not making a brackets for cables lol

By the time you have repimmed the look I could have fitted the cable especially if you had to first find which ones to repin.


Yeah, the problem with changing the kickwell loom is that it can induce a whole host of other faults, trust me on that, so while yes it gets the engine running without issue, you can end up with other electrical gremlins, this is a well known fact in the trade.

By all means swap the kickwell loom, it has every chance of being ok, but for me it's ten times easier to move a few pins and guarantee the cars chassis wiring remains the same.

The cable mod is just a simple 12mm spacer, no new bracket needs to be made, it's childsplay.
Back to top
User is offline 
[email protected]
IMOC Affiliated Company



Joined: 14 Dec 2004
Posts: 7640
Location: durham
Feedback Score: 30



PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Happy to help you via PM or email on the wiring, or if you're really stuck send me both the NA and turbo engine looms and i will make you a plug and play harness, no kickwell change needed.
Back to top
User is offline 
tubbychat3




Joined: 17 Apr 2016
Posts: 43
Location: east Anglia
Feedback Score: 0



PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Reply with quote including images

Pm'd
Back to top
User is offline 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       www.imoc.co.uk Forum Index -> MR2 Engine Swaps All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group