Rode shotgun in a polics car on pursuit

Tales of driving experiences you have had.

Moderators: IMOC Moderators, IMOC Committee Members

This post is:

Great
No votes
Stupid
No votes

Total votes: 0

Olly P

Rode shotgun in a polics car on pursuit

Post by Olly P »

My firend is a police officer and I've been tempted to join the force for many years. So I took him up on his offer of joining him in the patrol car for a few hours last night (10pm to 1am) in and around Lewisham, London.

Of all the things that I was impressed with the most, it was his driving. Wow! :shock: Talk about skills!

We were in a 2006 BMW 530d. 215bhp & 370lb.ft. Uprated brakes and suspension.

I used to think I was a pretty good driver. I feel I can handle a rear wheel drive car and am used to the performance of my 300bhp tubby. But this guy's skills were stunning. I'm not talking about exuberant and flashy skills, I'm talking about car control, anticipation and concentration.

The first time we got a call and he flicked the blue lights and siren on, I couldn't wipe the smile off my face. However, :) soon turned to :shock: as we raced through the town centre and residential streets. His cornering was especially impressive. You can see they've been taught like racing drivers. There is no breaking at all except in a straight line. When he turns, it's all about feeding the wheel and applying power. None of this crossing arms and braking mid corner that you and I do.